Date: 20th July 2015 at 4:01pm
Written by:

Could Kiko Martinez been given the benefit of the doubt in Saturday and given the chance to box on, or did the referee step in at the right moment?

Over the past twenty-four hours I?ve read varying opinions on the subject, but my view is that even though a world title was at stake, the referee was correct.

Martinez got up as the count reached nine and didn?t look to have all his faculties about him.

But there?s no doubting that after getting over a dodgy first round Scott Quigg did a fantastic job in stopping Martinez so early.

Naturally all talk is of Quigg and Frampton getting in the same ring together, but the vibes are that Frampton has bene having trouble making super-bantamweight and will be moving up to featherweight.

But, news of Frampton getting knocked down twice in his first fight in the US, both knockdowns in the first round, had Eddie Hearn positively enthusing about Quigg?s chances of knocking Frampton out, with Hearn being quoted in the Daily Mirroras having remarked,

?I think if Frampton is getting knocked over twice by the 11th best super-bantamweight in Mexico, he ain?t going to last six rounds with Scott.?

?Frampton will now move up to feather as an excuse for avoiding the fight with Scott Quigg. He?s not going to get hit like that and survive the fight. And after this, they?ll know that even more, so the obvious move for them would be to move to feather. We?ve got other plans anyway.?

My views are that Frampton is no mug, if he?s having trouble making the weight he knows the opportunity will arise for him to become a two-weight world champion and when that happens I wonder if we could enter the catch-weight scenario that seems so popular in the USA allowing Quigg and Frampton to go head-to-head, I know who my money would be on, how about yours?