Date: 24th May 2015 at 9:28am
Written by:

Who will become the second?

James DeGale, ahead of his IBF world title fight against Andre Dirrell, promised he?d be the first British Olympic Gold medal winner to win a world title and that is exactly what he did in Boston last night.

Since World War 2 Britain has won 6 gold medals in Boxing, with those who have done the country extremely proud being:-

? Terry Spinks ? 1956
? Chris Finnegan ? 1968
? Audley Harrison ? 2000
? James DeGale ? 2008
? Luke Campbell ? 2012
? Anthony Joshua ? 2013

DeGale has become the first and thrown down the gauntlet, can Luke Campbell and Anthony Joshua emulate the boxer from London who did exactly what he promised he would?